Tribal Directory

American Indian Nations in Oklahoma

Oklahoma has a rich American Indian history. The tribal nations headquartered here—39 in all, 38 federally recognized—are vital contributors to this state and their respective communities.

Unlike a business or other entity that may relocate, the tribes are permanent citizens of this state. They employ people here. They create jobs here. The infrastructure they build will always be here. And the tribes will always be here ... forever calling Oklahoma home.

Representing 33 Tribal Nations

Edwina Butler-Wolfe, Governor
Absentee Shawnee Tribe
Chief Nelson Scott Harjo, Chief
Alabama/Quassarte Tribal Town
Bobby Komardley, Chairman
Apache Tribe of Oklahoma
Tamara Francis, Chairman
Caddo Nation
Chuck Hoskin Jr., Principal Chief
Cherokee Nation
Reggie Wassana, Governor
Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes
Bill Anoatubby, Governor
Chickasaw Nation
Gary Batton, Chief
Choctaw Nation
John A. Barrett, Chairman
Citizen Potawatomi Nation
Deborah Dotson, President
Delaware Nation
Glenna J. Wallace, Chief
Eastern Shawnee Tribe of Oklahoma
Lori Gooday Ware, Vice-Chairman
Fort Sill Apache Tribe
Edgar B. Kent, Jr., Chairperson
Iowa Tribe of Oklahoma
Lynn Williams, Chairwoman
Kaw Nation
David Pacheco, Jr., Chairman
Kickapoo Tribe of Oklahoma
Matthew Komalty, Chairman
Kiowa Tribe
Douglas Lankford, Chief
Miami Tribe of Oklahoma
Bill G. Follis, Chief
Modoc Nation
David W. Hill, Principal Chief
Muscogee (Creek) Nation
Geoffrey Standing Bear, Principal
Osage Nation
Ethel E. Cook, Chief
Ottawa Tribe of Oklahoma
James E. Whiteshirt, President
Pawnee Nation of Oklahoma
Craig Harper, Chief
Peoria Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma
Carla Carney, Member
Ponca Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma
John Berrey, Chairman
Quapaw Tribe of Oklahoma
Justin Freeland Wood, Principal Chief
Sac & Fox Nation
Greg P. Chilcoat, Principal Chief
Seminole Nation of Oklahoma
William Fisher, Chief
Seneca-Cayuga Nation
Ron Sparkman, Chief
Shawnee Tribe
Mekko Ryan Morrow, Town King
Thlopthlocco Tribal Town
Russell Martin, President
Tonkawa Tribe
Terri Parton, President
Wichita and Affiliated Tribes
Billy Friend, Chief
Wyandotte Nation