

December 20, 2019

Oklahoma Indian Gaming Association is officially transmitting this letter in response to Governor J. Kevin Stitt, on the behalf of the 32 Tribal Nations who have drafted and signed it.

Sincerely,

Matthew L. Morgan, Esq.

Chairman, Oklahoma Indian Gaming Association

Matthew L. Margan

December 20, 2019

Office of the Governor The Honorable J. Kevin Stitt Governor, State of Oklahoma Oklahoma State Capitol 2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Ste. 212 Oklahoma City, OK 73105

## Dear Governor Stitt:

We, the undersigned Tribal leaders, write to you to express our view on the status of the Tribal-State Gaming Compacts with our respective Tribes and Nations. We remain united in our position that the plain meaning of the Compact language "shall automatically renew" if the State takes governmental action to authorize electronic gaming at licensed racetracks on January 1, 2020, means exactly what it says.

As you know, the State, among other actions, through its Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission, has taken that State action by issuing licenses to horse tracks for electronic gaming, effective January 1, 2020. There is no credible legal argument to the contrary, as your continuing failure to provide us with a written legal analysis confirms. Since the compacts, by the terms approved and offered by over 850,000 Oklahomans in 2004, automatically renew, Class III Tribal Governmental Gaming on January 1, 2020, will continue to be lawful. We will keep our promises and continue to send our exclusivity fees to the State.

We regard your threats to our vendors, who are not parties to the compacts, as inappropriate. As you know, the State has no legal authority to determine the legality of, or otherwise regulate, gaming on Indian land, including the acts of vendors in support of Tribal Governmental Gaming. Of course, Tribes are the primary regulators of those vendors. In any event, since the Compact "shall automatically renew," on January 1, 2020, the vendors will be assisting Tribal Governmental Gaming from that day forward. We will continue to support our vendors, including against any unlawful attack by the State.

Additionally, your unfounded claim about illegal gaming is offensive to our hardworking employees, our citizens, and our numerous governmental and charitable organizations that benefit from our gaming. We are confident that those beneficiaries will continue to share, without interruption, in the fruits of our lawful governmental activity.

Finally, we are particularly concerned about your authority to offer an extension of the Compacts. The People enacted the model Compact as an act of legislation and through their legislation offered it to our Nations and Tribes. We see no participation by the Oklahoma Legislature in what is clearly an attempt to materially amend State law. We decline your unauthorized offer of an extension.

We hope that this united letter will encourage you to acknowledge the clear language used by the Oklahoma citizens who adopted the model Compact. If you agree that our Compacts automatically renew January 1, 2020, we are open to negotiate in good faith.

Chuck Hoskin Jr. Chuck Hoskin, Principal Chief, Cherokee Nation Bill anoatubby Bill Anoatubby, Governor, Chickasaw Nation Gary Batton, Chief, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma James Floyd, Principal Chief, Muscogee (Creek) Nation Greg P. CHILCOAT Gregory Paul Chilcoat, Chief, Seminole Nation of Oklahoma Edwina Butler-Wolfe, Governor, Absentee Shawnee Tribe [ In h hadry Nelson Scott Harjo, Chief, Alabama-Quassarte Tribal Town Kristophen Killsfirst Kristopher Killsfirst, Chairman, Apache Tribe of Oklahoma Tamar Michele Francis Fourkiller, Chairperson, Caddo Nation of Oklahoma Reggie Wassana, Governor, Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribe William Nelson, 51. William Nelson Sr., Chairman, Comanche Nation

Deboirah Dotai

Deborah Dotson, President, Delaware Nation

Glenna & Wallace

Glenna Wallace, Chief, Eastern Shawnee Tribe

La Goodaz Ware

Lori Gooday Ware, Chairwoman, Fort Sill Apache Tribe of Oklahoma

EJ-BX5

Edgar B. Kent Jr., Chairman, Iowa Tribe of Oklahoma

Jynn Wellians

Lynn Williams, Chairwoman, Kaw Nation

Dand Pacles OR

David Pacheco, Chairman, Kickapoo Tribe of Oklahoma

Dougles Lankford

Douglas G. Lankford, Chief, Miami Tribe of Oklahoma

Griffy a Standingbeer

Geoffrey M. Standing Bear, Principal Chief, Osage Nation

John SHOPON

John R. Shotton, Chairman, Otoe-Missouria Tribe of Indians

Ithel & Cook

Ethel E. Cook, Chief, Ottawa Tribe of Oklahoma

James & Whife Shirt James E. Whiteshirt, President, Pawnee Nation of Oklahoma CRAIG HARPER Craig Harper, Chief, Peoria Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma Johna Barrett John Barrett, Chairman, Citizen Potawatomi Nation John Berrey, Chairman, Quapaw Tribe of Oklahoma Justin F. Wood, Principal Chief, Sac and Fox Nation William & Fisher William L. Fisher, Chief, Seneca-Cayuga Nation Ben Barnes, Chief, Shawnee Tribe Ryan Morrow, Interim Town King, Thlopthlocco Tribal Town Russell Martin, President, Tonkawa Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma Terri Parton, President, Wichita and Affiliate Tribes (Wichita, Keechi, Waco & Tawakonie), Oklahoma

Billy Friend, Chief, Wyandotte Nation